Male /female Personal Assistants – Leith

Application deadline date has been passed for this Job.
This job has been Expired
Job Detail
Job Description

Male /female Personal Assistants required to support disabled man at home (Urgent) Leith Area. A variety of hours are available including evenings and weekends.

Interview date to be confirmed and will be conducted face to face

The post

Your role will be to assist me in my home life and other activities which will involve lots of opportunities to be out and about, including returning to my job as an outdoor education teacher. The role will include all personal care (morning and evening routine and support with medication), a range of domestic and social tasks. Helping to maintain physio and exercise as part of my daily routine.

About me

I am a sociable and active 40-year-old man who lives alone.

A mountain bike accident in August 2020 left me with a high-level spinal cord injury. However, I have some movement and function all over my body. I use a power chair and require to be assisted with most tasks.

Prior to my accident I led an adventurous lifestyle and had a love of the outdoors.  My interests included climbing, skiing and being in the mountains. My love of the outdoors has not been curbed and I enjoy walks around my local area and to the beach etc. I am equally happy spending time in my hometown Edinburgh and enjoy city life, cinema, going for drinks and shopping. I am a Rugby fan and try to go to matches at Murrayfield to watch Scotland whenever I can. I enjoy being with friends and family, this is very important to me.

I like to be organised and take pride in my appearance and my home.

I enjoy food, cooking, eating well and I like to stay active and healthy.

Have a look at my Instagram link and Facebook link which will give you an insight into my personality and my journey so far in recovering from my accident.


Personal qualities my assistants will have:

I am looking for someone who is:

  • Reliable and enthusiastic.
  • Open-minded.
  • Sense of humor.
  • An adventurous spirt.
  • Enjoys being sociable.
  • A good listener who can help me achieve the life I want to lead.
  • Confident with admin tasks and the use of IT.
  • Experience is not essential as all training will be provided; I am able to provide help and support to direct my care needs.
  • UK driver’s licence holder preferred, I have my own vehicle and want to be able to use this as much as possible to access the things I enjoy.

 Hours and rate of pay

 A variety of hours are available including evenings and weekends. Part-time roles for current students are available.

The posts are up to 39 hours per week plus sleepovers. I need support 24/7 so there will be a variety of support times on a rolling rota. This will include evenings and weekends. 

Flexibility will be required.

More hours may become available generally and to cover holidays/illness.

The rate of pay will be £13 per hour.  The rate of pay if working sleepovers will be £13 per hour for an 8 hour shift.

 The post will be offered based on the completion of paid trial shift(s), this will be confirmed at interview.



To apply, please click here , or send a CV to quoting job reference NH OH.